Organizers / Managers
Presentation
The Coudray-Salbart fortress was listed as a Monument Historique in 1952 and 1954. The Friends of the Château de Coudray-Salbart association (known as "du vieux Salbart" when it was founded) has been in existence since 1961.
Until 2002, young volunteers organized workcamps as part of REMPART (revegetation, restoration of staircases, a chimney, tower tops and archways).
In June 2000, the Communauté d'Agglomération du Niortais became the owner of the site. It launched large-scale renovation operations, carried out by specialist companies. Preliminary excavations are helping to advance our knowledge of the site's history.
This early 13th-century fortress is unique in Europe for the presence on the same site of a peripheral shaft, two almond-shaped towers and twelve intact vaulted rooms in a wide variety of architectural styles.
The whole complex is in an exceptional state of preservation.
The Association des Amis du Château de Coudray-Salbart has an agreement with Niort Agglo. It is responsible for promoting tourism on the site: guided tours, monthly themed events and school activities.